December 31 – The Best Bits – Bloggy Review 2009

Last December (2008) I came across this idea to

Post the first sentence of your first blog post of each month. You can also add a favorite picture from each month

I cheated slightly, as it is my blog, and I can do what I want (sort of!) so having read over my last year of blogging posts, I have listed this significant moments each month and selected a relevant photo or two (or three!).

So to that aim, I am including this in You Capture – a year in review hosted by I Should be Folding Laundry

So here is my blogging Review of 2009

January 2009

  • Surprise – telling the kids about our surprise trip in February to Disneyland Paris
  • Published! – my first ever digi-scrap layout publised in a “real” magazine
  • Project 365 – challenging myself to take a photo a day for the entire 365 days in 2009 (a few lapses, but I made it, but now I have lots of digital layouts to complete!)
  • Planning our new kitchen

February 2009

  • Snow
  • Transfer Test results- delighted that our daughter’s hard work paid off and she got the result she wanted
  • Disneyland Paris
  • Started my jewelery course – who knew where that would lead

www.janmarydesigns.com

March 2009

April 2009

May 2009

June 2009

July 2009

  • Enjoying the summer at the cottage
 

August 2009

September 2009

  • My wee one starts Primary School
  • Meet a lovely US blogger on her trip to N Ireland
  • The “before” pics of the dining room makeover

October 2009

  • My son turns 5
  • I photograph a wedding
  • Pumpkin carving (some more enthusiastic than others)
  • Fall Fest at our church

November 2009

  • a quieter month!
  • Youngest learning to read
  • Trip to Ulster Museum

December 2009

  • A daughter has her eighth birthday
  • Another daughter has her 12th birthday
  • I attend EIGHT carol services/christmas concerts
  • Eldest daughter chosen to perform a solo at the Cathedral and in front of her entire school
  • A bloggy home tour
  • A Nativity Bloggy Carnival
  • More snow than we are used to!
  • Christmas Eve and Christmas Day at home with my family – perfect

Thanks for joining my gallop through the year. What are the highlights of your year?

Happy New Year from Northern Ireland (where we are currently freezing in our holiday cottage, awaiting someone to come and fix the heating!) to my blog friends, old and new.

I am linking this up to Jo-Lynne’s 2009 recap too.

For more photo reviews of 2009, visit I Should Be Folding Launry

Hope to see you back here next year.

23 thoughts on “December 31 – The Best Bits – Bloggy Review 2009”

  1. bentonflocke

    another fantastic recap – love it – your idea is great!!

    Happy New Year and all my best wishes

  2. Julie From Inmates

    What a fun re-cap!! I love the picture of your little boy at the pumpkin carving! I also LOVE your kitchen!! =)

    Happy New Year!

  3. Brenda Susan

    Very cool! You’ve inspired me to try the first sentence thing. Should be interesting, we’ll see!

  4. How amazing to see your year measured out in milestones! Yor skill in capturing each special event in beautiful photos is such a gift and talent did it feel like a year? Did it pass quickly or?

    Haha I shared more with you through your wonderful blog than I’ve shared with some of my own family – so are we almost related now? LOL!

    Thank you for the privilege of walking through 2009 with you!

    Love, Barb

  5. Creative Junkie

    JanMary – you’ve brought quite the number of smiles to my face in 2009. Can’t wait to see what you do in 2010! Happy near year to a dear friend!

  6. Becca @ Our Crazy Boys

    I love that you changed the carnival a little to suit you!

    Thank for sharing your trip down memory lane 🙂

  7. Rachel Cotterill

    That sounds like a lovely year 🙂 Just dropped in via SITS… if you fancy a return visit I also have a review of the year just up. Nice to meet you!

  8. Love this post, I need to come back and visit some more!
    No time this morning as work is calling, but I will be back!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *